The ground floor area boasts a bar fashioned from an antique dresser and serves home cooked, locally sourced comfort food served alongside a fantastic selection of craft and cask ales and boutique spirits.
In November 2001 the ground floor of No.7 Royal Parade was incorporated into the tavern. Originally the world famous Farrah’s Harrogate Toffee shop, this room has been restored to its former glory. The centrepiece is the original Farrah shop display unit which now hosts a “museum” collection of Farrah memorabilia.
The upstairs intimate and atmospheric brasserie dining room accommodates 40 people and is also available for private hire.
The tavern’s name refers to the fact that until 1815 an earlier Inn, The Bell existed on the site. The original Bell Tavern developed from the early 17th century alehouses which served visitors resorting to Harrogate’s famous Old Sulphur Well which lies beneath the dome of the Royal Pump Room museum opposite the premises.
Sometimes known as the ‘Blue Bell’, probably because of the colour of its sign, the inn was also a stage in the York to Harrogate coaching run. The Bell closed in November 1815 and the property was occupied privately until 1846 when the site was cleared for the construction of Royal Parade at which time the original Bell’s inn cellars were incorporated into the new building.
A series of historic drawings depicting the original Bell Inn can be seen in the Old Bell bar lobby area.
In 1786, it was said of the tenants of the original Bell that they, “provided a stock of the best wines and other liquors, and furnished the house in a manner commodious for the reception of the genteelest families…”
Although there had been a gap of 184 years between the closing of the original tavern and the opening of the ‘Old Bell’, our standards are equally high and we aim to offer that same level of hospitality to our contemporary visitors to this grand old spa town.
Follow us on Twitter.